Oct 29, 2021
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

BFC announces Designer of the Year nominees for new-look awards event

Oct 29, 2021

Five nominees for the The British Fashion Council’s coveted Designer of the Year title have been announced by the BFC for its new-look Fashion Awards 2021 to be staged next month in London.

Bottega Veneta - Spring-Summer2020 - Womenswear - Milan - © PixelFormula

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga, Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and Loewe, Kim Jones for Dior Men and Fendi, and Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada are the short-listed names for the top title to be announced at the Royal Albert Hall on 29 November.

This year’s event, presented in association with  TikTok, comes in a completely new format, evolving into a “global entertainment platform to celebrate fashion’s role at the intersection of culture”, the BFC said.

It will a programme of include awards, performances and unique cultural highlights of the past year, the body added.

Over 1,000 members of the international fashion industry are voting for this year’s global accolades that includes the BFC Foundation Award, which recognises an emerging designer talent who, over the last 12 months, “has had a major creative impact on global fashion”.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.