Jan 21, 2020
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

2020 Woolmark Prize judges announced

Jan 21, 2020

Dior Men’s Kim Jones, Holli Rogers from Farfetch, and model Anja Rubik are among the judges announced on Tuesday for the 2020 International Woolmark Prize.

The global final will be held in London in February - International Woolmark Prize

The final stage of the global competition is taking place during the official London Fashion Week schedule in February.

The full panel of judges also includes Hamish Bowles, international editor at large at Vogue; Sinead Burke, educator and advocate; Edward Enninful,British Vogue editor in chief; Takashi Murakami, artist and president of Kaikai Kiki Co., Ltd.; Shaway Yeh, group style editorial director at Modern Media group; and Tim Blanks, editor-at-large of Business of Fashion.

February will see 10 finalists from nine countries competing to win the prestigious award, which celebrates sustainability in fashion and the versatility of Merino wool. The overall winner will receive A$200,000, while the new Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will be presented to a finalist who showcases outstanding creativity and innovation. The A$100,000 prize will be presented by Carine Roitfeld.

Roitfeld said “Karl was always looking for new talent - a rare, encouraging force, instrumental in the development of many young designers. In today’s global fashion business, discovering, nurturing, and providing a platform of recognition for innovating creatives is absolutely crucial.”

2020 finalists include A-COLD-WALL* from the UK, BLINDNESS from South Korea, BODE from the US, Botter from The Netherlands, Feng Chen Wang from China and the UK, GmbH from Germany, Ludovic de Saint Sernin from France, Matthew Adams Dolans from the USA, Namacheko from Belgium and Richard Malone from Ireland.

Last year’s menswear and womenswear winners were Edward Crutchley and Colovos.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.